chronic illness · fur babies · random thoughts

Another Day, Another Vet Visit

Elder dog needed another check up today. Had to check her med levels. Luckily not another blood test. That would have made today even more expensive.

Vet feels like she’s headed in the right direction, but we’re increasing her dose again for the cushings meds, since she’s still getting a lot of sores and there’s been no change in her water intake or frequency on going outside. Also changing how we give her the anti inflammatory. Hoping to help the weakness in her back legs a little more.

I’m exhausted.

Between her health and my health, there’s most night I just want to cry, and do. It’s hard to take care of her the way she needs right now when my own body is having so many issues. She can’t use the dog door anymore, which means needing to get up constantly to let her in and out. Which causes issues with the POTs for me. She also can’t jump up and down from anything anymore which means picking her up and putting her down from the couch and bed and car.

At least she’s started sleeping through the night again. No more panting for 3-4hrs every night. I’m finally starting to get 5ish hours of sleep between her settling down and my own meds being changed up.

Good things and bad things and some things in between.

I also haven’t had to watch a pet actually decline in a way like this. It’s definitely taking its toll.

Today I had grand plans to get more chores done. I started moving things out of the way during my lunch break, but after the vet visit and finally getting my dinner made…I’m back to being so tired I want to cry.

Teapot said the crying will become less eventually. I hope they’re right.

Speaking of, tomorrow is my next session with Teapot. Back to focusing on the topic I would rather not but taking advantage of complete privacy for once.

At least I have enough leftovers in the fridge to throw something together. Usually I would order take out as a therapy treat, but this trip to the vet determined I will not have takeout money. Still waiting on the new dose of her med to pay for too.

Someday I’ll be able to pay everything off.

Someday I’ll be able to get to a safe space.

Leave a comment